Board of Trustees

Schutz American School is governed by a Board of Trustees of up to 13 voting and five non-voting members.

The voting members are selected by the Membership Committee and serve a term of three years. The voting members of the Board work directly with the Head of School to develop policy and ensure those policies are implemented in addition to providing strategic planning that will guide Schutz in the coming years. It is also responsible for hiring and evaluating the Head of School. The Board Executive Committee consists of a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary and the Head of School.

The Board maintains six standing committees that meet approximately once a month. They are the Executive, Trustees, Finance, Policy, Education and Facilities committees.

The non-voting members of the Board are from the school community and represent particular constituents. Whereas they do not vote on Board related decisions they do provide important feedback and actively participate on Board committees. Non-voting members of the Board are the Head of School, Principals, PTA President, High School Student Council President and a Staff Representative.